4th phase upazila polls begins

The 4th phase of the 5th Upazila Parishad elections begins today in 107 upazilas od 16 districts under five divisions. The polling started at 8 am and would continue up to 4 pm without any break while a general holiday has been announced today in the respective upazilas. About 1,142 aspirants are contesting for chairman, vice-chairman and women
vice-chairman posts in the third phase of polls. Though the election to chairman, vice-chairman and reserved vice-chairman posts will be held under party banner, election to the vice-chairman and reserved vice-chairman posts open to all without party nominations.

About 1.5 lakh members of Police, Rapid Action Battalion (RAB), Border Guard Bangladesh (BGB), Ansar and Armed Police Battalion (APBn) have been deployed to maintain the law and order during the upazila elections while additional BGB personnel will guard 50 upazilas which are considered as risky. The fourth phase election was scheduled to be held in 128 Upazila Parishads including six postponed upazilas’ election in the three previous phases.

The Election Commission (EC) has suspended the elections to Dumuria (Khulna), Chhagalnaiya (Feni), Trishal (Mymensingh), Barura (Cumilla), Mathbaria (Pirojpur) and Kabirhat (Noakhali).

Besides, there will be no voting in 15 upazilas as candidates in all posts
were elected unopposed.

The fifth phase of the Upazila Parishad elections will be held in 21 upazilas
on June 18 next.